The Nightmare

Hello everyone,

since I will be having a really busy day with a lot of work today, I don’t really have time for a more lengthy post. So I want to use this opportunity to introduce a new category of my blog, poetry.

I wrote the following poem for an online contest, but didn’t win anything though. I had to contain the following words for me to qualify: rain, moon, mist, dew, stars, fields, breeze, fountain, clouds and violet. In the end I even forgot to put in one of them, but that went unnoticed. I think there was a line limit and originally I had to choose 10 words from about 24 given ones or so. To make it more challenging and due to a small lack of inspiration I let a friend choose those 10 words for me. So without further ado, here you go. I hope you like it.


THE NIGHTMARE

The moon is brightening my path.

The stars are showing me the way.

The way that leads out of the dark

and yet I’m bound to stay.

You’ve occupied my mind.

I can’t move from the spot.

There’s not a place you’re not to find

around these fields I like a lot.

I sense your presence in all the violet petals

covered up in chilly dew.

I am the one who always battles

to have the chance to be with you.

Clouds are gathering above my head.

They’re darkening my mood.

The starting rain is reason why I fled

under this scary roof.

As I move past the thick, grey mist

I’m to find a fountain filled with crimson goo

and as I approach to get the gist,

it turns out that it’s you …

The horror won’t let go of me.

It’s all beyond my grasp.

The darkness catches up with me

in form of grim, black mask.

Finally I wake to understand

that it was all just but a dream.

But yet with bloody knife in hand!

What does it really mean?

Leave a comment